DENVER, Colorado (July 12, 2022) – The Colorado Solar and Storage Association (COSSA) is pleased to announce the Solar and Storage Champions for 2022. 

The Awards started in 2021 at COSSA’s inaugural Topgolf Networking Event and developed out of the annual COSSA tradition of recognizing the individuals and organizations that have made invaluable contributions to the solar and storage energy industry.

“Successfully decarbonizing Colorado takes more than just hard working solar and storage businesses,” said Mike Kruger, President and CEO of COSSA. “This is a collective effort that has been supported by multiple levels of government and made possible by partnerships with the people delivering power and building these solar and storage systems.”

Last year, COSSA recognized the work of Colorado Senators Steve Fenberg and Kevin Priola, Colorado Representatives Alex Valdez and Kevin Van Winkle, the Weld County Commissioners and Weld County Planner Tom Parko, and Dan Merkle from Pivot Energy.

This year’s Solar and Storage Champions are:

US Senators Michael Bennet and John Hickenlooper

Senator Bennet and Hickenlooper will be recognized for their advocacy during the Department of Commerce tariff investigation. During the worst of the industry freeze in May, the Senators traveled to Denver to discuss the real-time impacts with COSSA members and hear their stories. The Senators brought the urgency back with them to DC; Bennet delivered a moving speech on the Senate floor and both Senators co-sponsored Senator Jon Ossoff’s Solar Energy Manufacturing for America Act bill. 

United Power

United Power has taken several impactful steps to support solar and energy storage. Their work has also touched multiple solar sectors, making the electric cooperative a true champion in 2022. United Power has some of the highest distributed generation penetration of Colorado utilities, has advocated for community solar at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and issued a request for proposal in May 2022 for wholesale electric power supply to serve up to a peak load of 600 MW.

Morgan County Commissioners

Morgan County Commissioners will be recognized for their work crafting common-sense land use codes that reflect the unique land use impacts of solar and storage projects and foster large-scale development. These new codes arrive after months of a solar and wind moratorium, and demonstrate that any county can – and should – attract solar investment in their county.

County Planner Nicole Hay will also be recognized with a “Friend of Solar” award for her collaboration with industry to identify best practices when crafting the new County land use codes.

The Laborer’s International Union of North America (LIUNA)

LIUNA will be recognized for their work to develop a diverse renewable energy workforce and ensure that solar and storage jobs are attractive to quality talent. COSSA is happy to work alongside LIUNA to ensure that labor and solar work together rather than run in opposition, and we are appreciative of all the support they have given COSSA over the past year.

These Solar and Storage Champions will be celebrated during the 2022 Topgolf Networking Event on August 25, 2022 at Topgolf in Thornton, Colorado. Representatives from all of the award winners will be on hand to receive the awards and offer short remarks.

For more information, please contact Mike Kruger, (202) 631-7439,

 # # #

COSSA is the state trade association representing over 250 solar and storage businesses in Colorado.  COSSA’s members provide solar and energy storage products and services to residential consumers, commercial businesses, utilities, and governmental entities throughout the state.